The Region Magallanes, Chile

txu-oclc-310606106-chile_adm09The Region of Magallanes, officially the XII Region of Magallanes and Chilean Antarctica(Spanish: XII Región de Magallanes y de la Antártica Chilena), is one of Chile's 15 first order administrative divisions. It is the southernmost, largest, and second least populated region of Chile. It comprises four provinces: Última Esperanza, Magallanes, Tierra del Fuego, and Antártica Chilena. Magallanes has many globally known places and geographical features including Torres del Paine, Cape Horn, Tierra del Fuego island, and the Strait of Magellan. It also includes the Antarctic territory claimed by Chile. Despite its large area, much of the land in the region is rugged or closed off for sheep farming, and is thus not suitable for settlement. 80% of the population lives in the capital Punta Arenas, a major market city and one of the main hubs for Antarctic exploration . The main economic activities are sheep farming, oil extraction, and tourism. Punta Arenas is said to have the largest percentage of Croatians in the world outside Croatia and the former Yugoslavia.  The settlement of Punta Arenas and the Magellan and Chilean Antarctica Region is a result of its past being a hub to international travel. This proportion has persisted, the bulk of the regional population in the city of Punta Arenas, and in the provincial capital Puerto Natales, Porvenir (Spanish for "future") and Puerto Williams, one of the world's southernmost cities. In the past 50 years the population has maintained a moderate increase, as shown below, keeping one of the lowest population densities in the country and since this is mostly urban, mostly concentrated in Punta Arenas. Some of the cities in the Magallane region (2012 census) are: Punta Arenas (127,000), Puerto Natales (19,116), Porvenir (6,400), Puerto Williams (2,900), Torres Del Paine (739),Puerto Eden (176), and Cerro Sombrero (687).

As of this writing (2016) there is no independent Baptist church of any kind in the whole region of the Magallanes.